How to Manage Disks and Volumes with OS X’s Disk Utility

If you need to format, partition, or otherwise work with hard drives on a Mac, Apple’s Disk Utility is the tool you use. Found in the Utilities folder, inside your Applications folder, Disk Utility is a powerful tool that offers a full range of features to manage disks and volumes, encrypt and decrypt them, work with disk images, and much more.

The following is an overview of how to manage disks and volumes with OS X’s Disk Utility. In this article, you will learn how to get information about your drives, format a new disk, partition a drive, and turn on encryption.

Read the rest of the article on The Mac Security Blog.

4 thoughts on “How to Manage Disks and Volumes with OS X’s Disk Utility

  1. I like the format of the new Disk Utility, but it seems a little buggy. I encrypt my external drives. With the old Disk Utility in OS X Yosemite, there was an icon to unlock a drive, then another icon to mount the drive. This worked well.

    In the new Disk Utility, after I do File > Unlock, the Mount icon remains greyed out (un-clickable). If I do File > Unlock a second time, I get a message saying “drive is already unlocked”. Just me, or is anyone else experiencing this?

    When I first plug in an encrypted drive, I know that I have the chance at that point to enter the password and mount the drive, but sometimes I don’t want to mount the drive at that moment. When I later launch Disk Utility, I run into the scenario describe above. So it’s easiest to disconnect and reconnect the drive, rather than trying to get Disk Utility to unlock and mount the drive.

  2. I like the format of the new Disk Utility, but it seems a little buggy. I encrypt my external drives. With the old Disk Utility in OS X Yosemite, there was an icon to unlock a drive, then another icon to mount the drive. This worked well.

    In the new Disk Utility, after I do File > Unlock, the Mount icon remains greyed out (un-clickable). If I do File > Unlock a second time, I get a message saying “drive is already unlocked”. Just me, or is anyone else experiencing this?

    When I first plug in an encrypted drive, I know that I have the chance at that point to enter the password and mount the drive, but sometimes I don’t want to mount the drive at that moment. When I later launch Disk Utility, I run into the scenario describe above. So it’s easiest to disconnect and reconnect the drive, rather than trying to get Disk Utility to unlock and mount the drive.

  3. I’m getting this when I reboot my Mac Pro and the system prompts me to unlock my two external USB drives. I type in the password, I get the shake indicating that the password was incorrect. I type in the password again and I get a notice that the disk was already unlocked. I’m guessing I would get a similar result of I ejected the drives and then tried to unlock them via the disk utility. I’ve had this for about a year and just lived with it, but today I tried to Google for a reason or solution.

  4. I’m getting this when I reboot my Mac Pro and the system prompts me to unlock my two external USB drives. I type in the password, I get the shake indicating that the password was incorrect. I type in the password again and I get a notice that the disk was already unlocked. I’m guessing I would get a similar result of I ejected the drives and then tried to unlock them via the disk utility. I’ve had this for about a year and just lived with it, but today I tried to Google for a reason or solution.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.