When you upgrade to a new iPhone or iPad, you may want to sell or give away your old device, or pass it on to a friend or family member. When you do this, you need to make sure that the device is erased so the new user can’t access any of your data. At the same time, you need to ensure that you can transfer your existing data to the new device. These operations are simple, but it’s important to prepare for the change.
Your entire iPhone or iPad is encrypted; all the data is protected, and only when you unlock the device can you access any of it. As such, erasing the device – as we explain below – ensures that no one can access the data. There is no need to use apps that claim to “fully erase” the device, since all the data that remains is inaccessible because of this encryption. In addition, these apps cannot access the file system, so they can’t even erase all the data.
But iMazing can help you back up your device before wiping it, making sure that your backup does indeed contain all your data.
Here’s how to safely wipe your iPhone or iPad before selling it:
Read the rest of the article on iMazing.com.