Twitter has rolled out a new set of options designed to allow users to more easily avoid bots and trolls. In your Notifications settings, you can block notifications from people whose profiles meet certain conditions:
- You don’t follow them
- They have a default profile photo (an egg)
- They haven’t confirmed their email addresses
- They haven’t confirmed their phone number
This means that you can avoid seeing notifications from many accounts that are temporary. If you’re using Twitter’s own app or their web interface, you won’t see these users on your Notifications timeline. I’m not sure how this will play out in third-party Twitter clients, such as those that have a unified timeline.
But it’s a step in the right direction to cut down on trolls.